CONTACT OUR MINNEAPOLIS CRIMINAL DEFENSE FIRM TODAY!

FREE CONSULTATION. CALL 24/7612-202-8971

DUI/DWI Homepage

Minnesota DWI Lawyer | Minneapolis DWI Attorney

Drunk driving is a very serious offense in the State of Minnesota.  Each year, there are more than 30,000 DWI arrests throughout the state. Charges can range from a Misdemeanor to a Felony. There are multiple factors that determine the level of charge, including but not limited to alcohol concentration and prior offenses.

Carson J. Heefner has over 20 years experience representing clients facing DWI charges. If you or someone you know has been charged with DWI/DUI, having an experience defense lawyer fighting for your rights can make a big difference.  Carson has that experience.  In addition to handling numerous DWI cases in Minnesota, Carson is a graduate of the National College for DUI Defense in Cambridge, MA, an extensive course for those who practice DUI and DWI defense.

Fighting DUI/DWI Charges In Minnesota

Depending on the level of the offense, a person convicted of DWI can spend time in jail and even prison, lose their driver’s license for up to a year or more, lose their vehicle to forfeiture, as well as suffer various other consequences. Imagine not being able to drive to and from work, or take your kids to school or other activities?  Imagine not being able to drive to the grocery store, or the doctor’s office. These are consequences that people face when charged with a DWI/DUI.  An experienced defense lawyer can explain the process, fight to get your driver’s license or vehicle back, and keep you out of jail.

Carson has years of experience in the following areas:

If it has to do with DUI/DWI, Carson Heefner knows the law. He will help you through every facet of your case, and work hard to achieve the best possible result. Just because you have been charged with DWI doesn’t mean you will be convicted. An experienced defense lawyer can often get the charges dismissed, or negotiated down to a lesser charge.

DWI/DUI Charges in Minnesota

Minnesota law has 4 levels, or degrees, of DWI/DUI:

Fourth Degree

This is charged if it’s your first offense in a 10 year period of time and your alcohol concentration is over .08 but less than .16.  It is a Misdemeanor, with a maximum penalty of 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Third Degree

This is charged if it is your second offense in 10 years and your alcohol concentration is over .08 but less tan .16.  It is also charged if it is your first offense and you refuse testing, you have a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle, or your alcohol concentration was .16 or greater.  These offenses are Gross Misdemeanors, with a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a $3,000 fine.  If it is your second offense in 10 years, you must serve a minimum of 30 days in jail, or a combination of jail and intensive monitoring.

Second Degree

This is charged if it is your third offense in 10 years, or if it is your second offense in 10 years and you test over .16 or have a child under the age of 16 in your vehicle. These offenses are Gross Misdemeanors, with a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a $3,000 fine.  If it is your third offense in 10 years, you must serve a minimum of 90 days in jail, or a combination of jail and intensive monitoring.

First Degree

This is charged if it is your fourth offense in 10 years.  This is a felony in the State of Minnesota.

Contact A Minnesota DWI Lawyer

Carson J. Heefner has over 20 years experience representing individuals who have been charged with DWI/DUI. He is a graduate of the National College for DUI Defense, which is an intensive training seminar for people who defend those accused of DWI/DUI. If you or someone you know has been charged with any level of DWI/DUI, contact Carson at  612-202-8971 or carson@heefnerlaw.com for a free consultation.