Under Minnesota law, a Third Degree DWI/DUI is a Gross Misdemeanor with a maximum punishment of one year in jail and a $3,000 in fine.
Fighting Third-Degree DWI/DUI In Minnesota
A Third Degree DUI/DWI will becharged under the following circumstances:
- It is your first offense and you test .16 or greater.
- It is your first offense with a child under the age of 16 in the car.
- It is your second offense within 10 years, and you test .08 or greater but less than .16.
- It is your first offense and you refuse testing.
First offense (refusal to test, .16 or greater, child under the age of 16 in the vehicle)
- No mandatory penalties.
Second offense within 10 years
- Mandatory 30-day jail sentence, which can be served in jail, on house arrest/monitoring, community service, or a combination of the three.
Under Minnesota law, a Third Degree DWI/DUI results in 1 year revocation of your driver’s license. You can either choose to not drive for a year, or participate in the Ignition Interlock Program for the duration of your revocation period.
If you are charged with a Third Degree DWI/DUI, your license plates will be impounded and you will be required to have special registration or “whiskey plates”, installed on every vehicle you own,
Contact Attorney Carson J. Heefner Today
Carson J. Heefner has over 20 years experience defending individuals who have been charged with Third Degree DWI/DUI. He is a graduate of the National College for DUI Defense, which is an intensive training seminar for people who defend those accused of DWI/DUI. If you or anyone you know have been accused of Third Degree DWI/DUI, contact Carson at 612-202-8971 or firstname.lastname@example.org for a free consultation.