Minneapolis Prostitution Attorney
This offense deals with prostitutes and those who hire them. In the State of Minnesota, it is illegal to get paid for sex, or to pay someone else for a sexual encounter. The most common activity that occurs is when a John picks up a prostitute in his or her vehicle. In addition, often times people make arrangements for sex over the internet, or even visit a massage parlor that is a cover for prostitution. No matter the circumstance of your case, a prostitution lawyer in Minneapolis can help you.
Fighting Prostitution Charges
The level of a prostitution offense depends on a number of factors. They include whether you are the patron or the prostitute, the age of the prostitute and where the act took place.
The laws in Minnesota regarding Patrons/Johns is relatively straight forward. The offenses can range from Felonies to Misdemeanors.
Felony Prostitution Charges
The following are treated as Felonies in the State of Minnesota:
- Engaging in a sex act with a prostitute under the age of 13, which is prohibited under Minn. Stat. 609.324. This is a Felony, with a maximum punishment of 20 years in prison and $40,000 fine.
- Engaging in prostitution with a child between the ages of 13 and 16. This is a Felony, with a maximum punishment 10 years in prison and a $20,000 fine.
- Engaging in prostitution with a child between the ages of 16 and 18. This is Felony, with a maximum penalty of 5 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Gross Misdemeanor Prostitution Charges
The following is treated as Gross Misdemeanors in Minnesota, with a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a $3,000 fine:
- Engaging in prostitution in a public place and the prostitute is over 18 years of age
Misdemeanor Prostitution Charges
The following is treated as a Misdemeanor in Minnesota, with a maximum penalty of 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine:
- Engaging in prostitution in a private place and the prostitute is over 18 years of age.
In Minnesota, the consequences for being a prostitute are similar to that of being a patron or John. However, the charges are normally Gross Misdemeanor or Misdemeanor level offenses.
Gross Misdemeanor Charge for a Prostitute
The following is treated as a Gross Misdemeanor, with a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a $3,000 fine.
- Acting as a prostitute in a public place
Misdemeanor Charge for a Prostitute
The following is treated as a Misdemeanor, with a maximum penalty of 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine
- Acting as a prostitute in a private place
Experienced Prostitution Attorney
Regardless of the reason for the charge or the circumstances, there may be other factors that influence the outcome of the case. Carson J. Heefner is a Minneapolis prostitution defense attorney who will use every angle and strategy to secure the best result.
Contact Attorney Carson J. Heefner Today
If you have been accused of being a patron or John in a prostitution case, you have the right to defend yourself. Carson J. Heefner has over 20 years experience representing individuals charged with a variety of prostitution charges. If you or anyone you know has been accused of either a prostitute or a John, contact Carson at 612-202-8971 or firstname.lastname@example.org for a free consultation.